Maa Inti Vanta

Namaste,…Swagatam,..suswagatam….Welcome to Maa Inti Vanta and enjoy my dishes

Palak (Spinach) Pulao Wednesday, November, 15, 2006

Filed under: Rice — coolpepper @ 8:29 am

                                       Palak (Spinach) pulao …..does it sounds weird ? Even I thought the same when I saw palak rice in many blogs. But one should admit -“Very healthy recipe, mainly for the kids who doesn’t want to have greens.” When I saw the palak rice in many blogs I thought of preparing palak rice but in my way.. ie  adopting my original pulav recipe for palak. I also made up my mind that if this comes out bad then I will switch to the the methods used by my fellow bloggers for palak rice.  Ahhh,……I was relieved by the taste. Though it came out well, I desire to cook the palak rice the way my fellow bloggers cooked n posted.

                   Palak (Spinach) Pulao

                            Palak (Spinach) Pulao garnished with carrot, and capsicum

Source: I adopted my original pulav recipe for palak.

Ingredients:
Palak – 1 bunch
Potatoes – 2 no.
Frozen peas – 1/4 cup
Onion – 1 big
Frozen green chillies – 5 no.
Rice – 3cups
water – 6 cups
Ginger – 1 tspn
Garlic – 1 Tbspn
Garam masala – 1 tbspn,
Curd – 2 tbspn
salt acc to taste
oil 2 tbspn
Jeera+shahi jeera – 1 tspn
cloves – 2 no.
cinnamon – small piece
bay leaves – 2
Turmeric – A pinch

Note:
1.I used 1 Tbspn of garam masala. check the spice level before adding garam masala as we are using 5 green chillies.
2. I used Indian green chillies frozen.
3.Make paste with all green chillies, garlic and ginger.
4.I used the pressure cooker for preparing this dish.

Method:
1.Heat oil in pan, add cloves, cinnamon, bay leaves, jeera ,shahi jeera.
2.When jeera starts spluttering, add onions (cut lengthwise), chilli-ginger-garlic paste, salt and a pinch of turmeric.
3.Fry for about 7 min. Now add cubed potatoes, peas. saute it well for 5 min and then add chopped palak (spinach).
4.When spinach is half cooked add 2 tbspn of curd n mix it well.
5.Add 6 cups of water.Let the water boil.
6.Once see the taste. If u feel it to be less spicy then add garam masala to it.
7.Now add 3 cups of rice and pressure cook it.

Goes really well with Bhendi(Okra) Raita.

                   Palak Pulao

                                                           Palak (Spinach) Pulao

Terminology:
Palak – Spinach
Garam Masala – Mixture of ground spices (available readymade),
Jeera – Cumin seeds
Shahi Jeera – It has different names, Kashmiri jeera, Himali jeera, Nepali jeera, Kala jeera, Black cumin. Many think that black cumin/kala jeera as Nigella/onion seeds. Please remember Nigella / onion seeds are totally different.
 

 

22 Responses to “Palak (Spinach) Pulao”

  1. Lakshmi Says:

    I have made pulao with methi and pudina earlier never with spinach. This is a great idea. Will give it a try.

  2. Trupti Says:

    This is one of my loved dishes….your garnishes look wonderful.

    Cheers,Trupti

  3. Shobha Says:

    HI

    your Pulav look so good, one of the favourite to give a try, garnishe is simply superb, How did you make those tiny carrot flowers? Please let me know

    Shoba

  4. mandira Says:

    never tried pulao with spinach, but it looks great. Will try it soon. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Lakshmiammal Says:

    First time here. Must visit for I found a lot lunchbox recipes here.Thanks for sharing!BTW how did you get the carrot florets?:-)

  6. lakshmi Says:

    nice healthy pulao using spinach, mine is a different version, somday will post it.

  7. Praveena Says:

    Wow! you presented it so nice. Are you sure you want it eaten ;)
    Prav.

  8. Madhavi Says:

    You have a very good collection for different types of pulav. Never had spinach pulav. The picture looks awesome!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Madhavi.

  9. great pictures as usual..and love recipe..tahks for sharing..I will give a try when I get palak next time:-)

  10. Asha Says:

    Beautiful looking spinach pulao, healthy too:))

  11. Bhargavi Says:

    Thanks to one and all for all ur kind words.
    I made carrot florets using floret cutter that I bought recently in 100 yen shop in tokyo.
    These cutters are available for different shapes, flowers,rabbit,..etc.,
    Good Day!

  12. Anupama Says:

    Liked your pulao recipe. Spinach is a favourite with the entire family so I will definitely try it

  13. Mythili Says:

    Cool Pepper : Wow, that reminds me of Dante Culpepper :D
    Great site – my first time here. Spinach pulav sounds soooo delicious. I like anything that does not have pureed spinach and seems like I can try this dish.

    Cheers,
    Mythili

  14. seema Says:

    oh boy this looks yummmmmmmmmm i luv pulav’s and i make palak pulav too but in a different way …will definatley try out your way
    thanks for sharing
    Seema

  15. seema Says:

    hey just wante to say that u have a beautiful blog with very creative recipies in here …will keep visiting constantly …
    Cheers
    Seema

  16. MenuToday Says:

    Hi,
    Your Pulav looks sooooo delicious… Your carrot florets look beautiful..

  17. Usha Says:

    Hi Bhargavi,

    Amazing blog with Awesome pictures and Authentic recipes which insist me to try it..

    So I tried ur recipe “Palak pulao”.It came out well.Thank u for this healthy recipe and am looking forward to see more recipes…….

  18. swapna Says:

    Hai bhargavi

    Thanku very much for dropping by my blog.For me also this is the first time to visit ur blog.

    Came to ur palak pulao…..a very nice dish.Kids will like this very much.thanku for sharing…..

  19. Seema Says:

    Hi Bhargavi:
    I am a first time visitor to your blog and regret myself for missing out your blog and all those wonderful recipies and presentations in here …Lovely blog and beautiful pictures and very interesting recipies in here Bhargavi. Thank you so much for all these recipies and your presentation in each and every recipies is just amazingly beautiful.
    Thanx
    Seema

  20. Lakshmi Says:

    Hi Bhargavi,

    Tried ur “Palak Pulav” as our sunday dinner and it came out very well. Thanks for this wonderful receipe.Will try ur other receipes soon.

    Thanks
    Lakshmi.

  21. jyotsana Says:

    i never tried spinach pulao,but when i tried,it came out very tasty.and now this racipe is in my family menu.thnx a loooooooot………

  22. shabnam Says:

    im really fond of polau.its a great recipe.i never had polao wth spinach.thanks for sharing ths recipe wth us.i will try it.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.