Maa Inti Vanta

Namaste,…Swagatam,..suswagatam….Welcome to Maa Inti Vanta and enjoy my dishes

Carrot Sweet Sunday, February, 18, 2007

Filed under: Sweets — coolpepper @ 1:17 am

                                          Hello Friends!! Its been a very long time since I blogged. Sorry,  if I made anybody to wait for my posts. I was little busy and could not give time for the blog. From now, I ll try my best to be more regular with posting. This time I came with carrot sweet, which I made on Valentines day. This is the experiment I made with traditional carrot halwa/kheer which uses milk.  We liked it, hope you too love it.

                         Carrot Sweet

                                                                   Carrot Sweet
Ingredients:
Ghee – 1-2 Tbspn
Brown sugar – 1 cup
Cardamom – 2 no.
Carrot grated – 2 cups
Water – 1/2 cup
Saffron (optional)
Cashewnuts – 1 Tbspn
Raisins – 1 Tbsbn

Method:
1.Heat ghee in a pan. Add brown sugar, cardamom. Keep stirring it until sugar melts ( Be careful while doing this. Avoid adding water at this satge as there are chances of catching fire).
2.Once sugar gets melted , add grated carrot.
3.Stir well for about 5 min, add water.
4.Let it cook for 10 min.
6.Garnish the sweet with fried (in ghee) cashew nuts, raisins
7.Serve this hot or cold. Both tastes good.

                        

                         Carrot Sweet 1

Notes:
1.BROWN SUGAR: Brown sugar is a sucrose sugar product with a distinctive brown color due to the presence of molasses. It is either an unrefined or partially refined soft sugar consisting of sugar crystals with some residual molasses content or produced by the addition of molasses to refined white sugar. Brown sugar has a slightly lower caloric value
by weight than white sugar due to the presence of water. One hundred grams of brown sugar contains 373 calories, as opposed to 396 calories in white sugar. However, brown sugar packs more densely than white sugar due to the smaller crystal size and may have more calories when measured by volume. Read more here.
2.In step one, be careful and avoid adding water at that stage, as there are chances of catching fire.
3.I added little saffron in 1/2 cup of water n used that water in step 3.
4.In step 2, I first removed the pan from fire n added the carrot.
5.It took about 15 min for me to cook.

 

14 Responses to “Carrot Sweet”

  1. Panda Says:

    Hi Bhargavi
    This is the first time I am visiting ur blog. This is amazing.
    I am g8 fan of Gazar Halwa.
    so far, I didnt know how to prepare, but I can use this recipe and try.
    Thanx…Panda

  2. usha Says:

    Hi Bhargavi

    Nice to see u again with ur new yummy sweet recipe.Awesome picture(as usual).easy few-step recipe.will try it .

    Thank u for ur nutritional information on Brown sugar.(as am using only Brown sugar nowadays).

    Can u give me a recipe for carrot soup too?
    Happy Blogging!

  3. RP Says:

    I have been craving for carrot halwa for quite sometime now… I haven’t tried it with brown sugar though. Sounds good.

  4. Hi Bhargavi, so nice to see you back. Carrot halwa sounds delicious — and such a pretty color! Love the photos, too :)

    Linda

  5. jyotsana Says:

    Hi,bhargavi.sooo nice to see u again .i love carrot halwa.sure will try it.snaps looks great.thanks for sharing.take care & bbye.

  6. harekrishnaji Says:

    I enjoy hot Gajar Halva with Vanila Icecream Unbeatable combination

  7. Jyothsna Says:

    Carrot halwa is a must during winters isn’t it? I too blogged about carrot halwa, check my recipe out.:)

  8. seema Says:

    Nice comback gal. Carrot halwa looks very authentic and yummy

  9. swapna Says:

    Hi Bhargavi welcome back..
    mmm!!!yummy carrot halwa…enjoyed the picture even..

  10. Bhargavi Says:

    Thankyou so much for ur valuable comments.
    Good day!!

  11. sailaja Says:

    It seems to be carrot all the way..:). I blogged about carrot milk the other day and now I come across your carrot halwa. My fav sweets and would love to indulge..:). Must try with brown sugar sometime

  12. madhoori Says:

    Hi
    Yummy carrot sweet! Its been a long time i had that.
    Will try your recipe soon……..
    Thanku for visiting my blog and your valuable comments.
    Madhoori

  13. James Says:

    You have a very nice site. Other interesting resources diana zubiri


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.