Maa Inti Vanta

Namaste,…Swagatam,..suswagatam….Welcome to Maa Inti Vanta and enjoy my dishes

Chicken Capsicum Wednesday, September, 6, 2006

Filed under: NonVeg — coolpepper @ 2:27 am

                       Yesterday, I was planning to prepare capsicum rice and I almost sliced the capsicum. Then Suddenly realized that yesterday was supposed to be the last date for the chicken.Then I had to switched on to the chicken curry. I never prepared chicken capsicum before ,..more specific to say I added  capsicum (as I already Sliced for capsicum rice and cant see going waste) at the end and to my surprise it came out very well

              Chicken Capsicum

                                                   Chicken Capsicum
Whenever I prepare chicken curry I ll allow chicken to sit in the marinade for almost 1 hour , So it almost takes 2 hours to finish (including preparation of marinade), But this time I did without the marinade,..it just took 30-40 min to finish and came tasty too.

Ingredients :

Chicken  – 500 g
Tomatoes – 2 medium sized (I have used tinned tomatoes)
Onion – 1 medium sized
Oil – 2-3 tablespoon
cloves 3
small piece of cinnamon
Bay Leaf (optional)
Redchilli – 1
Jeera – 1 teaspoon
Redchilly powder

Garam masala
coriander Powder (coriander leaves are more preferable)
Turmeric – 1-2 teaspoons
Capsicum – 2 medium sized
Salt to taste

Note : Add redchilli powder,garam masala ,and coriander powder according to your spice level.

Method :

1.Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a pan and add chicken pieces. Sprinkle pinch of turmeric and allow to fry for 4 min and set aside. I skip this step if I use the marinade.
2.Now, heat the remaining oil in a cooking vessel and add cloves, cinnamon, bayleaf, redchilli, jeera, garam masala (Adding garam  masala to the hot oil gives fine aroma). When jeera start spluttering add chopped onions, turmeric,ginger-garlic paste and salt.
3.When onions turn golden brown add chopped tomatoes and close with lid.
4.When tomatoes are well cooked ( You can add little water in between to let the tomatoes to cook) add semi-fried chicken pieces.
5.Add redchilli powder, garam masala(if needed), coriander powder.
6.Once chicken gets cooked add sliced capsicum add close the vessel and let it sit for 3-4 min on medium flame.(First I fried capsicum in 2 teaspoons of oil for 2 min and later I added to the gravy.Next time i wanna try without frying the capsicum)
7 Serve red hot chicken capsicum with rice. Rasam/tomato charu is a good combination.
 

 

3 Responses to “Chicken Capsicum”

  1. Chandrika Says:

    You have a great blog, Bhargavi! Your chicken capsicum recipe sounds good…will try it this weekend…Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. coolpepper Says:

    Thankyou Chandrika! Do try and tell me the result 🙂

  3. Srilatha Says:

    You are doing a good work…I liked the blog..


Leave a Reply

