Maa Inti Vanta

Namaste,…Swagatam,..suswagatam….Welcome to Maa Inti Vanta and enjoy my dishes

Mushroom Egg Poratu/Bhurji Thursday, September, 7, 2006

Filed under: Stir fries — coolpepper @ 12:35 pm

Before my marriage I never tasted mushrooms. But after coming to tokyo I saw many   types of mushrooms,but never dared to buy them…. reasons are obvious,..I never tasted earlier and I do not know the preparation method. But one day I read somewhere that mushrooms are really good for health……so I made up my mind that I should prepare mushroom curry, and on one fine day I bought them 🙂 and made curry,..it was a big flop 😦 . After 2 weeks I again made the same curry inspite of the failure in the first attempt. It again fallflated. Then I never tried for months together. Later I saw one of my friend doing mushroom curry.I replicated it. I ll post that dish soon.
              Mushroom Egg Poratu

Mushroom Egg Poratu/Bhurji :

                 This is my own creation (I have used this word since I never ate or saw this type of dish). Sometime back I badly wanted to have egg poratu,….but only 2 eggs were there. uhhhh….what to do??…then I saw, a pack of mushrooms were sitting untouched for days…..the result is MUSHROOM EGG PORATU. Amazingly it turned out well. From that day onwards this dish is been made frequently.

Ingredients :
 
 Mushrooms – 1 pack
 Eggs – 3 No.
 Onion- 1 medium size
 Red chilli powder
 Salt to taste

For Tempering :
 Oil             – 1 table spoon
 Red chiili    – 2
 Chana dal  – 1  teaspoon
 Urad dal    – 1  teaspoon
 Mustard seeds – 1 teaspoon
 Jeera              – 1 teaspoon
 Curry leaves    – 5-6 (optional)

Method :
1.Heat oil in a non-stick pan and add red chilli, chana dal, urad dal, mustard seeds, jeera. When jeera splutters add curry leaves(optional) and add finely chopped onions.
2.Add salt and red chilli powder according to your taste, (If you like garam masala it can be added in this step).
3.When onions turns golden brown, add mushrooms and DO NOT cover the pan.
4.In the mean while beat the egg in a bowl and keep aside.
5.Once mushrooms gets cooked ,add beaten eggs. Do not disturb that for 2 – 3 min. After 3 min mix well and gently.
6.Using a spatula, turn the scrambled eggs upside down so that the eggs get fully cooked.

Garnish with chopped coriander leaves…..tasty tasty mushroom egg poratu/bhurji is ready!!!
   

 NOTE:

1.Because of their high water content,let the mushrooms cook in its own water,,,,do not add much water.
2.I don’t prefer boiling them before hand (I feel that doing so will totally take off the taste and one cannot enjoy the real  taste ).In my first 2 attempts I have overboiled hem,…that might be the reason for the disaster.
 

 

3 Responses to “Mushroom Egg Poratu/Bhurji”

  1. shilpa Says:

    That looks good. i have tried many types of burjis but never added mushrooms to it. Next time I will add it, I loooove mushrooms :).

  2. Roopa Says:

    Hi can you please let me know by curry leaves do you mean curry pata
    or the fresh green ones in your mushroom egg bhurji thx 🙂

  3. Bhargavi Says:

    Hi Roopa!
    Thx for visiting my page.
    Hope ur mushroom pulao came out well.
    Curry leaves = Curry patta. Since I can t get the fresh curry leaves here in tokyo i used dried ones, which I carried all the way from india. If u can get the fresh curry leaves then do use them.
    Good day!


Leave a Reply

